Bartholomew County Sheriff Merit Board, from left (standing) Dan Davis, Ric King, Susan Thayer-Fye, Phyllis Nolting-Apple and Steve Shireman. Bartholomew County Sheriff Matthew Myers (seated). (BCSO Photo)


Bartholomew County Sheriff Matt Myers has appointed two new members to serve on the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Merit Board. Ric King was appointed to fulfill the term of Jim Arthur which expires 1-1-2017. Susan Thayer Fye was appointed to replace David Welmer whose term expires 3-1-2015. Phyllis Apple who was appointed to the Board in 2013 will complete her original term which expires 1-1-2016.

Ric King was appointed by former Mayor Bob Stewart in 1992 to serve on the City of Columbus Police Audit and Review Committee. He continued his service under former Mayor Fred Armstrong and current Mayor Kristen Brown. King has been very instrumental in the success of today’s CPD Audit and Review Committee.

Susan Thayer Fye is a native of Bartholomew County who, prior to her appointment to the Sheriff’s Merit Board, served on the Columbus Board of Public Works and Safety and the Columbus Redevelopment Commission. She is a 1971 graduate of Hauser High School and holds a Bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Finance with a minor in Computer Science from Indiana University. She also has an MBA from Indiana University. She and her husband, Don Fye, have four sons and are members of St. Peter’s Lutheran Church. 

Phyllis Nolting Apple, a native of Bartholomew County, served as the District One representative on the Bartholomew County Council 2003 – 2010. She also serves on the Bartholomew County Alcoholic Beverage Board and the Bartholomew County Plan Commission. She and her husband, David Apple, have two grown sons, four grandchildren and are members of St. Peter’s Lutheran Church. 

Sheriff Matt Myers said: “I want to thank former Merit Board members, David Welmer and Jim Arthur for their years of dedicated service to the residents of Bartholomew County and the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Office. “The appointments that I made today are a more diverse group of people who represent the first step in our efforts to provide all citizens of Bartholomew County with a greater voice”, said Myers.

Officers for the 2015 Sheriff’s Merit Board include:
Dan Davis – President
Steve Shireman – Vice President
Phyllis Apple – Secretary

The Sheriff’s Merit Board meets the first Thursday of each month at 12:00 p.m. in the Training Room at the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Office.



911 Twitter Feed


  Sex offender reg

       Twitter logo grey 911 3
Citizens Alert Icon
   Twitter Icon Title  Everbridge Icon Title
  Twitter logo grey ema  News Icon3
   EMA Icon Title  News Icon Title

Twitter logo grey highway

Contact Us Icon3
  CountyHighway Icon Title Contact Us Icon Title
Phone Listing Icon3
  CountyBlgMap Icon Title Phone Listing Icon Title

Community Links7